My Favorite Books of 2023 Part 2: Science Fiction

By CDD20 on Pixabay

Many of the books listed here are by my favorite authors and were books I was planning to read for my “2023’s Reading Books by My Favorite Authors Challenge“.

My readings deviated from this challenge a lot though, by including the sequels of the Planetfall series by Emma Newman, two books of the Robot series by Isaac Asimov (an old favorite author of mine) and two sequels of Old Man’s War by John Scalzi.

I won’t be continuing the Favorite Authors Challenge now in 2024 because I will be focusing on other yearly challenges I will be soon posting here, one of them will be a “5 Star Prediction Challenge” where I will be reading 24 Books that will probably be five stars for me. This yearly reading challenge will include books by my favorite authors and books I am very optimistic about. 😉

Now, without much further ado, let’s talk about the books!

I) By Adrian Tchaikovsky

Children of Ruin (Children of Time #2)

Trust this brilliant author to reinvent his narrative colours with every book. He is a surprising writing chameleon (or octopus)! 🙂

Children of Memory (Children of Time #3)

I won’t say much not to spoil anything, but this whole trilogy(?) is a modern classic with deep and important themes and not an easy, but rewarding read exactly for this reason. I wonder if there will be more books in this series?

Dogs of War (Dogs of War #1)

Well written sci-fi with profound themes. This author accomplishes a new breakthrough with every book.

Firewalkers (Terrible Worlds: Revolutions)

Mind-blowing Sci-fi deserves 5 stars in my book!

***

II) By John Scalzi

The Last Colony (Old Man’s War #3)

This is my favorite series by this author!

Zoe’s Tale (Old Man’s War #4)

I could not put this book down!

Starter Villain

I finished this awesome book now; it was so funny! A five star for me without a doubt.

***

III) By Emma Newman

After Atlas (Planetfall #2)

Outstanding writing, mind-blowing sci-fi.

Before Mars (Planetfall #3)

The writing here is extraordinary, and this book shows a near future that is also way too possible to happen. This makes this series visionary in a very uncomfortable way and for this reason, it should be required reading in all schools.

Atlas Alone (Planetfall #4)

Amazing, a grand finale for this series! I wish there would be more sequels, though.

***

IV) By Isaac Asimov

The Caves of Steel (Robot #1)

Asimov is still one of my favorite sci-fi authors and I’ve waited too long to return to his books.

The Naked Sun (Robot #2)

This sci-fi book for me could only be five stars, because it is visionary, and it blew my mind.

***

V) Other Authors

System Collapse (The Murderbot Diaries #7) by Martha Wells

This was outstanding, and I could not put it down. I like the humor and the banter between Murderbot and ART. And Murderbot wanting just to have some quiet time to watch media with ART is so relatable.

Defiant (Skyward #4) by Brandon Sanderson

A beautiful last book for this series. I could not put this book down.

Death of a Clone by Alex Thomson

A fast read and a perfect mix of sci-fi and mystery. This book deserves more reviews and attention for sure!

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

The writing was so infused with tension and suspense that, even with slow plot development, I could not stop listening to this audiobook. Claire North is a new favorite author!

And you, which was your favorite sci-fi book of the year?

Stay tunned for my next favorite books of 2023 blog post, where I’ll be talking about my favorite Horror, Mystery, Poetry and Historical Fiction books of the year.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.