Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag 2023

This is a Tag, created by Earl Grey Books, that I happily do every June/July and sometimes even late in August, because it is an entertaining way to talk about how my reading is going towards the middle of the year.

Without much further explanation let’s answer the questions:

Best book you’ve read so far in 2023
The Witch’s Heart Genevieve Gornichec. Outstanding and deeply touching characters and story. I want to read more by this author!

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2023
The Last Colony ( Old Man’s War #3) John Scalzi. This sequel has a really good resolution and if this series would be a trilogy it would be well finished. I plan even though to continue reading this series since this is my favorite series by this author!

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
Lords of Uncreation ( The Final Architecture #3) by Adrian Tchaikovsky. I plan to finish this trilogy(?) still this year.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
Defiant ( Skyward #4) by Brandon Sanderson.

Biggest disappointment.
Survival ( Species Imperative #1) Julie E. Czerneda. The way how the story was developed didn’t work at all for me. Even though I still want to try more books by this author.

Biggest surprise.
Death of a Clone by Alex Thomson. A fast read and a perfect mix of Sci-fi and Mystery. This book deserves more reviews and attention for sure!

Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)
Molly Tanzer. I read the Diabolist’s Library #1 Creatures of Will and Temper and I plan to read this whole trilogy for sure since the book was very delightful and original.

Newest favorite character.
Penelope in Ithaca ( The Songs of Penelope #1) by Claire North. I like how deeply resilient and patient the characters from this other new favorite author of mine are.

Book that made you cry.
Celebrations: Rituals of Peace and Prayer by Maya Angelou. This is extremely touching poetry.

Book that made you happy.
The Amulet of Samarkand ( Bartimaeus #1) by Jonathan Stroud.
This was so entertaining! A light fantasy read with lots of magicians and djinns!

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received).
I received a digital ARC with a really beautiful cover, but I don’t feel like talking about it because, even if the cover was one of the things that made me pick the book in the first place, the story was not written in a way that kept me interested enough to enjoy reading it and recommend it.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Around twenty books! And I need to focus on these soon if I want to finish my challenges.

It’s a lot but it can be done. I am always very optimistic with my TBRs!

Everybody is invited to do this Tag in their blog or video if they feel like it. If you do that post the link in the comments so I can check your answers out.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.