The Best Books of 2021 Part Three: Science-Fiction

I had many Science Fiction favorite books in 2021.

I’ve already talked about my favorite Sci-fi Novellas in my 2021 Novella Favorites post and about The Final Six (The Final Six #1) by Alexandra Monir in my A to Z Challenge Wrap-up post so I’ll not repeat myself here but only write about the books I haven’t recently reviewed.

The Ghost Brigades (Old Man’s War #2) by John Scalzi

This was very interesting and I liked it as much or even more than the first book in this series because it talked more about the Special Forces. And stories with humans developed by technology are among my science fiction favorites since I read Brave New World.

I’m curious about how this series will resolve its bigger scope questions so I’ll continue it for sure.

The Vela (The Vela #1) by Yoon Ha Lee, Becky Chambers, Rivers Solomon, S.L. Huang

This serial has four things I really liked:

1) Great writers collaborating in a cohesive and well done narrative,
2) Well written, multi-layered, characters,
3) A surprising and fast paced plot that never gets boring and
4) Food for thought of extreme, utmost importance. Many of the questions this story asks could be translated to our current world situation and how we handle world problems like refugees and climate change.

This serial packs a punch. I liked how it made me think about a lot of important things and I recommend it to anyone who wants to get out of their comfort zone while reading a very entertaining science fiction story with fast paced action.
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Prime Deceptions (Chilling Effect #2) by Valerie Valdes

With a plot that goes, happens and explodes and funny, relatable characters, this was a very entertaining sequel.

The Spanish expressions were as extremely funny to hear on the Audiobook as they were to read on the book. And it even has a Portuguese dialogue, we always need more of that. And I need more books in this series, which is great because a third book is scheduled for August this year.

The Chimera Code by Wayne Santos

A very original and interesting science fiction story world with fantasy elements, multi-layered characters and well written and fast paced battle scenes. The Audiobook narration was very well done too.
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Shards of Honor (Vorkosigan Saga (Publication Order) #1) by Lois McMaster Bujold

I am really enjoying this series so far and will continue it for sure.

I like the writing style, the multi-layered characters and surprising situations. This is the second book I read by Bujold that balances fun and important themes in a masterful way.

Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson

I liked the dialect, the characters (especially Mami) and the plot. It was a fast paced urban fantasy dystopia, and in any case an original read that I could not put down.

Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice

This was a poetically and beautifully written Apocalyptic book with Anishinaabe cultural elements that I wanted to take my time and hear slowly. I wish it had been longer. I can fully understand why this book was an John W. Campbell Memorial Award Nominee for Best Science Fiction Novel (2019). I can’t understand why it wasn’t a winner though. I’ll surely keep an eye for more books by this great author.

Starsight (Skyward #2) by Brandon Sanderson

This was a great sequel that expanded the already awesome story world in the first book of this series and introduced new interesting characters and plot developments.
I will not write more not to spoil anything, but I’ll surely continue this very surprising series now in 2022.

And you? Did you have a favorite book last year that you would recommend to everyone? Let me know in the comments.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

3 thoughts on “The Best Books of 2021 Part Three: Science-Fiction”

  1. Difficult choice for SF. Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir, followed by Shards of Earth by Tchaikovsky and Fugitive Telemetry by Martha Wells. The last Expanse novel, Leviathan Falls, gets honorable mentions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I stopped reading PHM due to too many buddy reads but I’ll continue soon. I liked the beginning. Shards of Earth is in my TBR for 2022 and I liked Network Effect more than Fugitive Telemetry. I started The Expanse series but somehow didn’t continue.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.