My Favorite Books of 2023 Part 1: Fantasy

I) Greek and Norse Mythology Retellings / Mythology Inspired Fantasy

Ithaca (The Songs of Penelope #1) by Claire North

The characters are deep, multi-layered and something to remember. It was a pleasure listening to the narration on the POV of Hera. Outstanding writing, I surely plan on reading more by this author.

Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes

Beautifully written, poetic and deeply touching, with all ‘the feels’.

Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold (Stephen Fry’s Great Mythology #1) by Stephen Fry

A bit more traditional than the previous two books, this is a very entertaining audiobook to listen to.
Certainly delightful, this is a serious candidate to be listened to again. The wonderful narration by Stephen Fry makes it so.

Atalanta by Jennifer Saint

I loved the characters and the writing style. This author is one of my favorites for Greek Mythology Retellings!
This story shows with success the cultural values of antiquity. We might be shocked about how those values clash with modern values, but this does not make this book less worthy.

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

This outstanding standalone was inspired by Norse Mythology, of which I certainly want to read more in 2024. Outstanding and deeply touching characters and story. I want to read more by this author!

II) Other Fantasy:

The Legends of the First Empire series by Michael J. Sullivan

This year I read from book #2 to #6. I will make a detailed post about this series, but for now all I will say is that I really liked the story world and the characters and I could not put this series down.

Shadows of the Apt series by Adrian Tchaikovsky

I read book #1 and #2 this year and I surely plan on continuing the series next year.

And Put Away Childish Things (Terrible Worlds: Destinations) by Adrian Tchaikovsky

The beginning of this book was a bit slow for me, but the middle and end were smart, funny and brilliant as all Adrian Tchaikovsky’s books are. (I consider this author the best contemporary SFF author presently publishing and I want to read all his books with no exception whatsoever!)
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Catwings Series (#1 to #4) by Ursula K. Le Guin, S.D. Schindler (Illustrator)

This series was so poetic and well written. I could not put it down and read it in one sitting. Serious reread and cozy, comforting material.

When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain (The Singing Hills Cycle #2) by Nghi Vo

I really like this author’s writing style. This started slowly, but it was quite original, surprising and interesting.

Creatures of Will and Temper (Diabolist’s Library #1) by Molly Tanzer

This is so original. I really like when characters are multi-layered and in shades instead of good or bad.
Dorina reminds me of Sandra singing Maria Magdalena (“Promise me delight!”), and Evadne reminds me of Nanashi in the webcomic Earthsong. They are both such great characters!
This is an author I want to read more from, and I surely want to continue this series!

A Sleight of Shadows (The Unseen World #2) by Kat Howard

I like the writing and profound themes of this author and this series quite a lot, and I could not give this book fewer stars than five.

The Blade Itself (The First Law #1) by Joe Abercrombie

I really liked the writing and the multi-layered characters here and I want to continue this series for sure. Such profound universal themes!

The Bartimaeus Series (#1 – #3) by Jonathan Stroud

If you follow this blog, you have heard enough about this series from my previous posts. I surely plan on reading more by this author next year.

Stay tuned for my next posts on Science Fiction and Mystery, Horror and Historical Fiction Favorites.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.