5 Books I Have In My Shelf – Graphic Novels

I started a new series here in the blog to talk about the books I already have on my shelf. I want to share a brief review of the ones I read and talk about my plans with the ones who are still unread. I’ll do these five books at a time too, otherwise these posts would get really long.

I have usually no hurry in reading my physical books since it is fine for me when part of my shelves remains there for a rainy day (in case my e-reader or cellphone runs out of battery). I buy more nonfiction than fiction books too, since I consider a physical copy more important when you want to learn about a topic than when you only want to read a story.

And with graphic novels, I really like to collect them. I like to have a collection of different drawing styles and even if the art isn’t always the best, I still like this format ways of ‘showing’ stories. After nonfiction books, graphic novels are the books I mostly like to buy in physical form.

In this post I’ll talk about three graphic novels/comics that are more mainstream and two that are less known and less talked about than they should be.

So with little further ado, let talk about my physical graphic novel books:

Lore Olympus

Lore Olympus: Volume One (Lore Olympus Volumes #1) by Rachel Smythe

Rating: 5 stars! In the first place, I must give potential readers a warning about sexual violence content in the book. By being a Gen-Xer, I forgot to talk about that when I recommended this to a younger friend and it didn’t go well. Apart from that I considered this Webtoon so outstanding! I couldn’t stop reading this.

It has very important themes (and again, a few triggers). The plot contains all the nuances and feels while being an amazing retelling of Greek mythology (which will be fresh even if you already read tons of Greek Mythology) and the characters are multi-layered and carefully done.

This deserved to be the winner of the Goodreads Choice awards 2021 in the Best Graphic Novels & Comics category.

I’ll probably buy the next volumes in this series when they come out.

The Tea Dragon Society & Adulthood is a Myth

The Tea Dragon Society (Tea Dragon #1) by Kay O’Neill

Rating: 5 stars! A heart-warming story with important themes and adorable art. And the tea dragons are so extremely cute! I have only the first volume of this series in physical form, but I have plans to get the other two volumes too. As it was, I received an arc of volume two and three in this series from NetGalley and therefore I would like to thank them and the publisher.

All three volumes in the series were five stars for me.

Adulthood Is a Myth (Sarah’s Scribbles #1) by Sarah Andersen

Rating: 5 stars!This was the Goodreads Choice Award Winner in the Best Graphic Novels & Comics category in 2016 for a good reason. It’s hilarious and so relatable. My only complaint: it’s too short! I could read one thousand pages of this! 😉 I have only the first volume of this series in physical form, but I have plans to get the other three volumes too.

Earthsong Volume One and Two By Crystal Yates

Earthsong Vol 1 (Earthsong Saga) by Crystal Yates.

Rating: 5 stars! This doesn’t get at all the hype it deserves, so I consider it a hidden gem.

I own the first two volumes of this series in physical and the last three in digital form. You can read this as a web comic too.

I liked the first two volumes more than the last three, because the author could have fleshed out the story in better directions. The story world was original though, and I liked all the characters, especially Nanashi.

Trying Human Volume One and Two by Emy Bitner
Trying Human Volume 3 and Artbook Volume Two by Emy Bitner

Trying Human (Volume #1) by Emy Bitner

Rating: 5 stars! You can also read this as a web comic

I have the first three volumes of this in physical form and I plan to buy the next ones when the author releases them. This is a very original story about aliens and abductees. It’s out of the beaten track.

Let me know in the comments if I should go on talking about my owned graphic novels in my next post or if you would prefer to read about my science fiction, young adult or fantasy books.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.