September, a month with 3 awesome Readathons! #SpaceOperaSeptember #Latinxathon #LatinxBookBingo

I’m participating in three Readathons in September:

Space Opera September,

LATIN-X-ATHON  and

Latinx Book Bingo

I won’t describe the readathons here in detail as its creators do a much better job at it. For more detail on these Readathons please check the creators channels, they have awesome content!

I’ll only say that Space Opera September is a Readathon focused on reading Space Opera and #Latinxathon on reading books written by #Latinx authors. Being a Latinx (Brazilian) myself, I feel extremely happy to read more books from other Latinx  authors, which are sometimes forgotten while reading other popular books.

Without much other ado, here are my TBR choices:

Space Opera September:
1: Read a space opera novella

Sisters of the Vast Black by Lina Rather

2A: Read two space operas by women 
  1. Starfarers (Starfarers #1) by Vonda N. McIntyre
  2. Chilling Effect (Chilling Effect #1) by Valerie Valdes
3: Read a space opera published before you were born

The Ship Who Sang (Brainship #1) by Anne McCaffrey

4: Read a space opera 500 pages or longer:

Velocity Weapon (The Protectorate #1) by Megan E. O’Keefe

 

#Latinxathon and #LatinxBookBingo

On the #Latinx readathon  I want to read a classic BIPOC Brazillian author, Machado the Assis, read a couple of new to me Latinx authors, and catch up my reading on books by Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

As it comes to new to me authors, I’ll be reading a humorous space-opera by Valerie Valdes and, if there’s time, a dark retelling by Anna-Marie McLemore.

LATIN-X-ATHON  TBR
VOICES: Read a book by a Black and/or Indigenous Latinx author

A Mão e a Luva by Machado de Assis
Machado de Assis is imho the greatest classic Brazilian writer, and, acording to Wikipedia, “a mulatto from a poor family”.

Brazil is a non-Spanish speaking country, therefore I will read this book in its original language, Portuguese.

ROOTS: Read a translated book or a book featuring more than one language

Here I will read a book that I’m also reading for Space Opera September and that is Chilling Effect (Chilling Effect #1) by Valerie Valdes.

This humorous space opera book has many funny expressions; like for example “sinvergüenza” (something like Scoundrel but in the context of the story extremely hilarious) in  Spanish (I guess?), that reminds me of the same expression in Portuguese, sem vergonha, and makes me laugh so, so much.

HERITAGE: Read a book written by an author from a non-Spanish speaking Latin American country (or heritage):

Quincas Borba by Machado de Assis

I’ll be gladly reading another book in my mother language.

 

LATIN-X-BOOK-BINGO

I hope I’ll have enough time during the Readathon to read these other books, but even if time isn’t enough I’ll surely read these books in my near future.

Any book  by a Latinx author:

The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Rec by a Latinx reader:

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

On cover rep:

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Never before read Latinx author:

Nocturna by Maya Montayne

Queer rep:

Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore

 

And you, are you also participating in one of these Readathons?

 

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.