Reading Books by My Favorite Authors: Mid-Year Wrap-Up

We are now in the beginning of August so I wanted to talk about how this challenge is going.
I changed my mind about reading some planned books and picked different ones that suited me better. This helped to balance this challenge better towards authors genders.
The ‘still to read’ titles are the ones that are still in my TBR for the second half of the year.

Brandon Sanderson

Read:

The Alloy of Law (The Mistborn Saga #4)
Rating: 3 Stars.
I didn’t like this as much as the books in the first Mistborn Era. I might eventually continue this series, I’m not sure though because I am not usually into western and the characters didn’t really keep me invested. I will probably give up reading Mistborn Era 2.

Still want to read:

The Rithmatist (Rithmatist #1)
New Release 2023: Defiant (Skyward #4)
Perhaps: 2023’s New Release: Stormlight 5

Peter Newman

Read:

The Vagrant (The Vagrant #1)
Rating: 3 Stars.
This was very original but the story’s stronger leaning towards dystopia and horror made me to like it less than the other trilogy by this author. I might continue this trilogy eventually but at the moment I feel more compelled to read other series.

Emma Newman

I picked the Planetfall series for this backlist reading challenge.

Read:
After Atlas (Planetfall #2)
Rating: 5 Stars.
Outstanding writing, mind-blowing sci-fi.

Still want to read:
Before Mars (Planetfall #3)
Atlas Alone (Planetfall #4)
Before, After, Alone: A Planetfall Universe short story collection

Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read:

Dogs of War (Dogs of War #1)
Rating: 5 Stars.
Well written sci-fi with profound themes. This author accomplishes a new breakthrough with every book.

Children of Ruin (Children of Time #2)
Rating: 5 Stars.
Trust this brilliant author to reinvent his narrative colours with every book. He is a surprising writing chameleon (or octopus)! 🙂

Children of Memory (Children of Time #3)
Rating: 4 Stars.
The trilogy is a modern classic with deep themes. The third book was challenging but rewarding.
I wonder if there will be more books in this series?

Empire in Black and Gold (Shadows of the Apt #1)
Rating: 5 Stars.
Outstanding epic fantasy! I will continue this series for sure!

Dragonfly Falling (Shadows of the Apt #2)
Rating: 5 Stars.
I feel how this series connects to Cage of Souls and the Echoes of the Fall series. I feel the synergy of the ‘Tchaikovsmere’ in my mind! 🙂

And Put Away Childish Things (Terrible Worlds: Destinations #3)
Rating: 4 Stars.
The beginning of this book was slow for me, but the middle, with the juxtaposition of the overwhelming reality of 2020 and the ‘virtual/parallel pocket reality of a children’s book story world made real’ and the surprising ending were smart, funny and brilliant.
A small joke: In 2020 I often saw the meme “F* this, I’m going to Narnia!” I think the character in this story did this in his own way, but it wasn’t the escape he hoped for.
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC of this book for an honest review.

Firewalkers (Terrible Worlds: Revolutions)
Rating: 5 Stars.
Mind-blowing Sci-fi deserves 5 stars in my book!

Still want to read:

The rest of the Shadows of the Apt series. (perhaps not all in 2023)
The Expert System’s Champion (Expert System #2)
Bear Head (Dogs of War #2)
The Doors of Eden
Precious Little Things
Made Things

T. Kingfisher

I still want to read her books in the second half of the year. They often have a cozy narrative, so I associate them with Autumn.
Swordheart (The World of the White Rat)
Minor Mage
Bryony and Roses
The Raven and the Reindeer

And you, who are your favorite authors?

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.