It hurts when it seems no one cares for your book, but…

girl-517555_1920

I thought about writing this post after seeing a video of one of my indie-publisher writer friends saying she would give up publishing due to too few people reading her books. She said she only had around ten people who really cared for her first book and this people shouldn’t be paying to read it.

I understand her point of view and disappointment. The problem is, we are in an extremely saturated market here.

On Goodreads, I have a list only for books from my independent author friends. It contains 76 titles so far. Last year I managed to read 8 books from this list. I wished I had read more and I hope I do manage a higher count this year, but reading time in real life is something very limited and, I must confess, sometimes I want to read books coming from traditional publishing as well, or writing craft books, or classic books. I wouldn’t be able to limit myself only to what has been published the last three years too.

I do hold all my independent author friends to my heart, but I alone can’t fulfill their expectations. All I can say to them is that they must write even if only a handful of people read their books. They should look at their books as their legacy to the creativity and wisdom of mankind. So few humans in this world have written a book and left something so valuable to the rest of us. Worries about how many people read it in the year it was published seems to me not the most important here.

So please take heart, dear indie-pub author. Your book is there, forever. It will be read eventually. It will be loved sometime too, by someone, this year or the next, or the next… You’ll never know the full impact it will have on other people. Don’t despair. Write on and always try to improve what you leave in this world. If it’s this you feel you should be doing, if this is your passion, make it happen. Release your work into the world and don’t worry so much about the immediate answer to it.

Only follow the path of creativity and passion without regrets.

Namaste.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

