Six delightful places and things I saw in my Tuscany vacation

1. The medieval San Gimignano

san_gimignano

Once an Italian friend told me that this small town is one of the most beautiful towns in Tuscany, and I agree with her. It looks like a magical fantasy setting, especially at night when the stone towers, walls, and houses seem even more lost in time.

 

2. Etruscan tombs.

etruscan_tomb

Which, according to my son, look like the entry to the lost city of Ouroboros in Ninjago. 🙂

3. A delicious candy made of milk powder.

galatine

These sweets made of milk powder, honey and yogurt were my main fuel in my Tuscany tours.

 

4. Decorative objects made of Alabaster.

alabaster

Alabaster, a white soft stone from Tuscany, is so beautiful white I couldn’t resist buying decoration objects made of them.

 

5. The Pisa Tower does justice to its fame.

pisa_tower

I had seen pictures of it before like everybody else, but to see it live is still an amazing, surprising and breathtakingly experience. It was much more beautiful than I expected.

6. The Devil’s Bridge

bridge

Also called The Bridge of Mary Magdalene, it has the classic medieval “hunchback” design, but what makes it different (according to the prospect from the Borgo a Mozzano Comune) is its asymmetrical arches and the gravity-defying central arc.

I never saw such a glorious gothic bridge before and loved crossing it. I wonder how the eleventh-century pilgrims must have felt back then.
Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

