Author Interview – C. J. McKee

CJ_Portrait

I have done some type of art most of my life and graphics as well as web design for the past ten years. I love the creative aspect of graphics and art as well as music. Creativity is utmost in my endeavors. I love to build something new from nothing.

I have been writing short stories and doing other forms of art since I was very young. Math was never my strong suit, but the art of writing? Ah, now that’s what I enjoyed the most. Anything creative appealed to me, and writing gave me so much more than merely painting a picture. I could create anything I wanted using the written word. I wrote mostly Sci-Fi or Fantasy stories, short but sweet. I have written other stories which I will post here so you can read and enjoy. I always have some form of writing going on which ranges from non-fiction to fiction.

QUESTIONS

-How would you describe your story in one sentence?

With the aide of Galddor the Dragon Sage, the Realms of Arydd are ruled by Dragons who watch over the land and beings to ensure their world is not destroyed by those who would use the land for dark purposes.

 

-What inspired you to write your story/characters/theme?

I had always read stories of dragons where they were hoarders or attacking villages or just plain evil. I wanted to write a novel or series where dragons were good and friendly toward humans and other beings alike.

 

-Which authors have influenced you?

Ray Bradbury, JRR Tolkien

 

-Which are your favorite literary genres?

Fantasy and Science Fiction

 

-What makes a book/story special for you?

Creating a world with characters that come alive and you get attached to.

 

-Where do you live? Did your hometown/country/culture influenced your story?

Montana. I’ve always loved the mountains and thus the reason the dragons who rule the realms live and from where they can watch over the land.

 

-How long you needed for writing this book/for your first draft/ for your revision/editing process?

It all depends on how much time I have to write. Total a few months or so. The first book has been written for years from original conception to editing.

 

-Did you hire a cover artist/editor/proofreader?

I did the cover designs. The editing/proofing was done by a professional editor.

 

What have you learned while writing and publishing? Did unexpected things happened?

-Oh yes they did. In some cases the storyline or characters took on a life of their own and went down a direction I wasn’t expecting. I’ve learned to be open-minded. Sometimes things an editor suggest can be a great addition or change. Also I learned more about writing in general from editors, things that have helped my writing improve.

 

-What helped you to get inspired and overcome hurdles along the writing of your book?

Music inspires me as does reading and role playing games. I always listen to Celtic music when writing. That and my Scottish heritage.

 

-What would you do differently on a next project?

Probably not much than I did on my last book. I will continue to grow and learn more, I don’t believe you ever stop.

 

-Best piece (s) of advice for first time writers?

Get an editor when you’re done with the initial writing, or when you feel it’s ready to be edited. No matter how well you think you did, it’s important to have an editor go through it. It can cost you a bit, but it’s totally worth it. Learn as much as you can about social networking and the resources that are out there to help you get your book into the hands of readers.

 

-Where can readers contact you in the internet? Do you have a blog/website?

They can go to my website www.mountaindragonmedia.com and I’m also on facebook:.  https://www.facebook.com/authorcjmckeeofficialpage   as well as twitter:  @MtDragonMedia

 

-What are you planning to write/publish next?

I am currently working on my third book in the Dragon Sage Chronicles; The Goblin Queen

 

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

