Author Interview – Kindra Sowder

Kindra

Kindra Sowder was born and raised in Rancho Palos Verdes, CA until the age of 12, when her family moved to Spartanburg, SC. She graduated from high school in 2006 Me with full honors and as a member of her high school Literary Club and the Spanish Honor Society. In January 2014, she graduated with her second degree in Psychology, earning her an AA and BA in the field. She began to write long before this though, forming the basis for the Executioner Trilogy at the age of 15. She got married to her husband Edd Sowder in May 2014 and still lives in Spartanburg, SC where she is basing Burning Willow Press. “Follow the Ashes” has earned her nominations in the following categories: Best YA Author, Best Cover Art (cover art by Lisa Vasquez), and Best Female Indie Author in the IAFC Awards! Her work “Hello, My Name is…: A Miss Hyde Novella Volume 1” has also been nominated for Book of the Day’s 2015 Summer Book Awards Best in Horror Award.

 

How would you describe your story in one sentence?

A big city girl trying to make it in the indie world!

 

What inspired you to write your story/characters/theme?

I am inspired by a lot of things. Music mostly. I can listen to a song and it invokes the image of a story in my mind that I write down as soon as it floods in. I have a tendency to stick with certain genres such as erotic horror, science fiction, Dystopian fiction and dark fantasy.

 

Which authors have influenced you?

Absolutely! I have been influenced by some of the greatest minds in literature including Stephen King, Anne Rice, Charlaine Harris, and Laurel K. Hamilton. (I have been compared to all of them)

 

Which are your favorite literary genres?

My favorite literary genres are the same ones I write in: Horror, science fiction, Dystopian fiction, and dark fantasy.

 

What makes a book/story special for you?

The characters. Always the characters. I need to be able to connect with them. If I can’t, the story means nothing. It may be a great story but you need great characters that readers can relate to to make it the best it can be.

 

Where do you live? Did your hometown/country/culture influenced your story?

I currently live in Spartanburg, SC. My hometown is actually Los Angeles, which has greatly influenced me. The Executioner Trilogy is based there as well as a new series I am writing. Another series is based where I live now.

 

How long you needed for writing this book/for your first draft/ for your revision/editing process?

I have to say that time varies from book to book. Some have taken me a year. Some have taken me a month. Some have taken three months. It’s hard to put down an exact number.

 

Did you hire a cover artist/editor/proofreader?

I do. My current cover artist is Loraine Van Tonder. Lisa Vasquez did the first two books of the Executioner Trilogy. I don’t use any editor in particular. I also have a beta reader who helps me with voice, plot points, etc. named Charles Leeland. he is also my biggest fan.I also have my PA Samantha Achaia who has been an amazing helper along the way.

 

What have you learned while writing and publishing? Did unexpected things happened?

I had heard that the literary scene was a hard place, but I learned very quickly that everyone was right. It’s hard to get your work published, but even harder to get your work recognized. I have to say that one unexpected event while I’ve been in the industry is losing my first cover artist.

 

What helped you to get inspired and overcome hurdles along the writing of your book? Again, music. it always helps. And if I have writer’s block I turn on a playlist, which I make specifically for each work, and the words start flowing again. My biggest hurdle has been the use of passive voice, which I am trying to curb.

 

What would you do differently on a next project?

I am already doing so many different things with each new project. Where do I even start?

 

Best piece (s) of advice for first time writers?

Read, read, read….Always. It helps you develop and learn as a writer. Also, write every day. What you put down may not be great, it may be amazing, or complete and utter garbage, but keep writing.

 

Where can readers contact you in the internet? Do you have a blog/website?

I can be found on FaceBook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and at my websitewww.ksowderauthor.com. I also have a blog called “Inside the Mind of Kindra Sowder.”

 

What are you planning to write/publish next?

I have about five works in progress as of right now. I am working on two series, the new installment to the Miss Hyde Novellas, as well as a secret project I’ll be announcing next month so keep a look out.

 


    


  

 

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

