Author Interview – Kristy Carey

Kristy

Kristy Carey is an author and blogger with a passion for creativity.  With one publication under her belt, she plans to keep the momentum by focusing on the Urban Fantasy genre in future pieces.  She is currently splitting her time between writing and steampunk jewelry design. Her passion in both writing and design, is to mix together elements that don’t belong, and make them seem natural.  Kristy is currently working several short stories, including The Story Shoppe, an anthology of Short Stories and a retelling of fairy tales, The Charming Line.

Questions:

How would you describe your story in one sentence?

Wizard seeks to save the world, by way of long life and apprentices.

What inspired you to write your story/characters/theme?

Honestly, I was doing an event called the 7 Day Story. In it, you take one week to go from Ideas to Publishable short story in 7 days. I had a Wizard sitting in a modern coffee shop, thinking of how life has changed over the years. At the time I’d been reading the Dresden Files and while the Wizard is in many ways inspired by Harry Dresden, I also worked hard to not copy him. This involved ‘No duster!’ in my thought process.

Which authors have influenced you?

Marjorie Weinman Sharmat the author of the Nate the Great books. I read them as a child and fell in love with mysteries.

Frank Peretti’s book ‘This Present Darkness’ is one of my favorite books. I love the speed at which the end moved.

David Eddings is by far my favorite author of all. I adore him.

Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files recently took over my LOVE of his writing.

Randy Henderson is a new author. I stumbled upon his first book a few months ago, and fell in love with it. As a bonus I had a chance to meet him at Sasquan this year.

Patricia Briggs.. I’ve only read one of her books so far, but I enjoyed it fully and can’t wait to read more.

Others that have inspired me would be Mary Higgins Clark, Janet Evonovich and a few others.

Which are your favorite literary genres?

Mysteries!!! Above all, I ADORE a good mystery. Noir style makes me happy.  😀 But a good one, where the detective is ALWAYS on the side of justice. The man can’t be bought, or romanced, into letting a killer go free.Urban Fantasy is top of my list. I love the mixture of fantasy with the modern world.

Fantasy in general.

I’d like to try Steampunk & Silkpunk, but I’ve yet to find one that holds me.

SciFi is enjoyable, but I’m not great with it in books.

What makes a book/story special for you?

Dialogue is something I look for in the story. I want to read a conversation and feel as if I’m just listening in on two people chatting… Or even think ‘I’ve had that conversation…”

Where do you live? Did your hometown/country/culture influenced your story?

I live in Spokane, WA. Its a smallish city on the OTHER side of the state. Not the Rainy side. I don’t think its inspired me, except to send my stories to bigger places.

How long you needed for writing this book/for your first draft/ for your revision/editing process?

The basic story only took me a day to write. The edits on the other hand took me quite a while to finish. Between letting it sit, sending it to friends to help edit, doing said edits and then letting it sit again…

Did you hire a cover artist/editor/proofreader?

Cover Artist is myself. I have some skills at it and at this point, do all my graphic design work.

Editor & Proofreader are friends who are skilled at it, and love me dearly. At this point, I can’t afford to hire someone.

What have you learned while writing and publishing? Did unexpected things happened?

That is a pain in the ass and the best thing I could ever do. ^^

Sometimes people read a story and want more, but don’t realize that the author may not have more to write. More than one person said that the Wandering Wizard was a Novel hiding in a Short Story. But I don’t have more to tell. The story is complete.  I have ‘started’ a sequel, but I have no idea if it’ll grow beyond the 1000 or so words I’ve started on it.

What helped you to get inspired and overcome hurdles along the writing of your book?

I’m pretty bad at overcoming hurdles. I tend to let them overwhelm me and take a break for unknown lengths of time. Its something I’m working on.

What would you do differently on a next project?

My next project is to be a series of shorts that I’ll release monthly, before releasing a complete book. Its my first shot at an actual novel, even if its done in a weird way.

Best piece (s) of advice for first time writers?

Write, edit, read and write some more. Honestly, those are what you need to do as a writer. Beyond that, its more a personal choice on what you do, how dedicated you are and such. There is no wrong way to write, except to write.

Where can readers contact you in the internet? Do you have a blog/website?

Blog – http://wouldbesomebody.blogspot.com/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/KristyCareyAuthor & https://www.facebook.com/VintageFusionJewels

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Kristy_C

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8434902.Kristy_Carey

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LWFIO00

Square Up Market – https://squareup.com/market/vintage-fusion-jewels

www.facebook.com/kristycareyauthor  |  www.facebook.com/vintagefusionjewels
www.vintagefusionjewels.etsy.com

What are you planning to write/publish next?

My next story is a retelling of fairy tales called The Charming Line. Each story has an intro, with a short blurb of the original story, followed by the ‘True Story’.

wizard

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

1 thought on “Author Interview – Kristy Carey”

Leave a Reply

