Author Interview – Brian Downes

BF Author Photo

How would you describe your story in one sentence?

Five survivors develop profound and profoundly sexual relationships with one another during a zombie virus quarantine.

What inspired you to write your story/characters/theme?

Our culture is relentlessly sex negative. I wanted to speak out against that grotesque darkness.

Which authors have influenced you?

I always cite F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tim Powers, and William Gibson.

Which are your favorite literary genres?

My favorite genres are non-fiction history, science for the layperson, urban fantasy, and literary fiction.

What makes a book/story special for you?

When it is original.

Where do you live? Did your hometown/country/culture influenced your story?

I live in Orlando, Florida, and I have written two books set there. I was born and raised in Ashtabula County, Ohio. I often mention that place in my books.

How long you needed for writing this book/for your first draft/ for your revision/editing process?

I did not time it. I would suppose two years.

Did you hire a cover artist/editor/proofreader?

Yes, I hired a cover artist. I also used a proofreader. I recommend it.

What helped you to get inspired and overcome hurdles along the writing of your book?

Inspiration is a chimera. You hammer and grind on the project every day until it is finished. Halfway through, you start thinking about your next project.

What would you do differently on a next project?

I would write a different story.

Best piece (s) of advice for first time writers?

Give up on this sickness and go get a business degree instead.

Where can readers contact you in the internet? Do you have a blog/website?

https://www.facebook.com/Brian-Downes-Author-241226129234925/timeline/?ref=hl

What are you planning to write/publish next?

I contribute to the website Florida Geek Scene, and am always working on an article for them. Also, I am writing my fifth novel, Red Sleeper. A follow-up to The Berlin Fraternity, Red Sleeper is set in Detroit in 1956. FBI Agent Christopher Haigwood hunts communist spies. To his surprise, he will discover that vampires exist, and that some of them are working for Moscow.

Carrefour Crisis Front Cover

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

