I started writing long ago…

Watching my two-year-old running away with my favorite pen and using it to express his art everywhere; the sofa, floor, walls and table included, makes me laugh and reminds me of the child I was. My dream as a child was to be a painter and when I learned to write, to be a writer. I started doing it when I was eleven years old, writing a short story about a lonely owl. With thirteen, I won an oil painting box in a short story contest. My story talked about a future where children behaved like small adults and the ones who remained children were put paralyzed in a living statues museum. Quite dystopian for a teenager. Perhaps one day I rewrite that story. At the time I had a literature teacher who encouraged me a lot, but she warned me that traditional publishing was a difficult goal. She told me that a friend of hers had only managed to publish her books when she was forty years old. At the time I considered this an extremely long time. Nowadays I’m forty-two and I smile every time I remember that.
As a teenager, I fell in love with poetry and still have many unpublished poems of that emotional time. Later I went on writing short stories about star-crossed lovers in my homeland Brazil. One day I plan to make an anthology when I have enough short stories, but this, together with a children’s story book, is still a project for the far away future.
So far I have had success in publishing four of my science-fiction short stories in the Far Horizons digital magazine. These stories are also part of another future project, a science-fiction, and fantasy anthology. Apart from that, I’m also learning to cross the bridge between a short story and a novel turning a four thousand words dark fantasy story into a sixty thousand word science fantasy novel. As I rewrite I see that there is a lot missing and my novel is getting longer every day.
I also reserve some time every week to study writing craft, since you can always get better at writing. The fact that I don’t have a deadline to finish writing my novel allows me to have time to think and make it better for as long as I find that necessary. As a painter I never exhibited a painting with a quality I wasn’t satisfied with, and as a writer, I’ll follow the same principles. In the end, I’m doing what I like to do and this makes not only the adult but also my inner child happy.

Author: Leticia Toraci

Artist, Painter, Writer, Indie Author in training and busy Mom

Leave a Reply

